Ohio Concealed Handgun License Information
Important: Appointments must be made for all CCW background checks. To make an appointment call (937)378-4435 *112 or *104.
(CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION ABOUT RENEWING YOUR LICENSE )
Download a Concealed Handgun License Application
IMPORTANT NOTE: A recent change in Ohio law prevents an applicant from obtaining a license if convicted of ANY degree of Domestic Violence (Ohio Revised Code 2919.25).
Online training courses for a Virginia concealed carry license are NOT VALID to apply for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License. Regarding Ohio concealed handgun license training, Ohio Revised Code 2923.125 G (1) states: “Each such course, class, or program…shall include at least eight hours of training in the safe handling and use of a firearm”, and also specifies that: “A minimum of two hours of in-person training that consists of range time and live-fire training” is required in that 8 hour total.
The NRA “Basics of Pistol Shooting” online course is 8 hours in length, and DOES meet the requirement of the Ohio Revised Code when the student ALSO completes a minimum of the two hours of in-person training that consists of range time and live-fire training.
Any online concealed carry license training certificate must document a MINIMUM of six hours of training, and be accompanied by a certificate documenting a minimum of TWO HOURS or more of in person handgun training with an instructor. A single certificate documenting both 6 or more hours of online training AND 2 or more hours of in person handgun training is also acceptable.
Download the "Ohio's Concealed Carry Law" Booklet
The legal requirements for a concealed handgun license issued by the Brown County Sheriff are:
21 years of age or older
Legal resident of United States
Resident of Brown, Adams, Clermont, Clinton, or Highland Counties
Submit a copy (originals will not be returned) of certification of completion of an 8 hour gun safety course meeting the requirements of O.R.C. 2923.125 (dated within the last 3 years, or equivalent certification, LE and Military exemptions)
File an application with the Sheriff’s Office
Submit a recent (within last 30 days) color passport style facial photo of the applicant (approximately 2”x2”) on a blank background.
Payment of a non-refundable fee: $67.00 for residents of Ohio for the last five consecutive years or more. If you have not been an Ohio resident for the last five consecutive years, the fee is $77.00. Payment may be in cash (EXACT CHANGE), money order or CERTIFIED CASHIER’S check payable to: Brown County Sheriff’s Office.
Out of State Applicants: If you are not an Ohio resident, and work in Brown County or an adjoining county, you may apply for a license by following the steps above providing current verification (paystub or employer letter) of employment in Brown County or an adjoining county.The NON-refundable application fee is $77.00 (exact change) or pay by money order or certified/cashier’s check payable to: Brown County Sheriff’s Office. (Non-certified personal or business checks will NOT be accepted)
Criminal and Mental competency background checks
Disqualifying factors may be viewed here
Please review these factors BEFORE submitting your application and non-refundable fee.
Applicants will have their fingerprints taken for a record check and license data entered into the computer at the time they submit their application.
Applicants must appear in person for the process and must bring a government issued photo ID (ex: driver’s license, state ID, passport).
Applicants will receive their issued license by U.S. Postal Mail, delivered to the address of your choice.
PLEASE DO NOT CALL to check on the status of your application after we have received it unless you fail to hear from us/or receive your mailed license for 45 days. If you were ink printed as part of the application process, your license completion time will be longer than if processed with an electronic WebCheck fingerprint. Ohio law allows up to 45 days for processing applications, although we make every effort to complete the process as quickly as possible.
After receiving your concealed handgun license, please be aware of the following information:
Your license is now entered into the law enforcement computer system.
An officer stopping any vehicle registered to you will be aware the registered vehicle owner has a concealed handgun license.
If stopped by an officer while carrying a handgun, the license holder must follow the procedures outlined in the current “Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law” booklet.
Please store the license in the sleeve provided, or consider using an adhesive plastic laminate to protect the face of the card (carrying the license in your wallet behind the plastic window may damage the card).
CARD REPLACEMENT FEES:
$15.00 Replace a lost or stolen license – complete affidavit of loss/theft (provided by our office), process new license with photo & signature, assign new license number, modify license number in law enforcement computer.
If you wish to obtain a replacement Concealed Handgun License displaying your new address, you must apply in person on the application dates and times listed above. The cost is $15.00 – (Modify record in CHL computer with new address, print replacement license, enter new address information in law enforcement computer). Payment must be in cash (exact change), money order, or cashier’s/certified check. Make the money order/certified/cashier’s check payable to: Brown County Sheriff’s Office. (NO uncertified personal or business checks are accepted)
CHANGE OF ADDRESS:
Ohio law requires you to notify the Sheriff’s Office at which you obtained your Concealed Handgun License within 45 days after an address change. Address changes sent by email are NOT accepted.
NOTE: You must notify the Sheriff’s Office that issued your license, NOT the Sheriff’s Office in your new resident county.
Brown County license holders may download an address change form and send by U.S. Postal Mail to:
Brown County Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Concealed Carry License
750 Mt. Orab Pike
Georgetown, OH 45121
This process, required by law, modifies the record held by our agency in the event you need to be contacted regarding a suspension, revocation, or administrative purpose. Note: you will NOT receive a confirmation from us that your change of address was received.
CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE RENEWAL:
Issued licenses are valid for 5 years from the date printed on the license.
An Ohio Concealed Handgun License may be renewed no more than 90 days before the expiration date printed on the license, and at any time after expiration.
Visit the Concealed Handgun License Renewal Page
The Ohio Attorney General’s website contains an information page including the required reading booklet “Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law”, Frequently Asked Questions, and an Instructor search index.
To learn about reciprocity with other states, click here
More information regarding the concealed carry law may be obtained at www.OhioCCW.org or www.buckeyefirearms.org. These organizations are not affiliated with the Brown County Sheriff’s Office, nor is the accuracy of their website content verified by our office.
SUBMITTING A FRAUDULENT TRAINING CERTIFICATE WITH A CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE APPLICATION IS A FELONY CRIMINAL OFFENSE (O.R.C. 2921.13C).
Application Hours are (excluding Holidays):
Monday 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Tuesday 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Wednesday 12:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Thursday 12:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Friday 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
By appointment only
Applications are NOT accepted on the following dates:
New Year’s Day – January 1, 2021
Martin Luther King Jr. Day – January 18, 2021
President’s Day – February 15, 2021
Memorial Day – May 31, 2021
Juneteenth - July 2, 2021
Independence Day – Observed July 5, 2021
Labor Day – September 6, 2021
Veterans’ Day – November 11, 2021
Thanksgiving Day – November 25, 2021
Christmas Eve - Observed December 23, 2021
Christmas – Observed December 24, 2021