Important: Due to the current State of Emergency we have made changes to our hours and all background checks will be done by appointment only. Due to time limits preference will be given to emergency and renewal applications. To make an appointment call (937)378-4435*112 or *104.
Ohio Concealed Handgun License Renewal Information
Application Hours are (excluding Holidays):
Monday 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Tuesday 12:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Thursday 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Friday 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Saturday appointments have been temporarily suspended.
Applications will be processed by appointment only.
Applications are NOT accepted on the following dates:
New Year’s Day – January 1, 2020
Martin Luther King Jr. Day – January 20, 2020
President’s Day – February 17, 2020
Memorial Day – May 25, 2020
Independence Day – Observed July 3, 2020
Labor Day – September 7, 2020
Columbus Day - October 12, 2020
Veterans’ Day – November 11, 2020
Thanksgiving Day – November 26, 2020
Christmas – December 25, 2020
CONCEAL CARRY RENEWAL PROCESS
RENEWAL APPLICATION TIME FRAME:
A license may be renewed up to 90 days prior to the expiration date, or any time after the expiration date. Under Ohio law, renewal applications may not be accepted any earlier.
There is NO training required to renew your license, regardless of how long ago it expired.
According to Ohio Revised Code 2923.126(A), a licensee who has been issued a license…shall be granted a grace period of thirty days after the licensee’s license expires during which the licensee’s license remains valid.
RENEWAL APPLICATION PROCESS:
IMPORTANT NOTE: A recent change in Ohio law prevents an applicant from obtaining a license if convicted of ANY degree of Domestic Violence (2919.25). Renewal Applicants will be denied a license if their record shows a conviction under Ohio Revised Code 2919.25
Requirements to renew a concealed handgun license are:
Resident of Brown, Adams, Clermont, Clinton, or Highland Counties
If you are not an Ohio resident, and work in Brown County or an adjoining county, you may apply for a license renewal by meeting all requirements and providing current verification (paystub or employer letter) of employment in Brown County or an adjoining county.
PRINT all required information on the application and sign where indicated.
It is NOT necessary to attach a copy of your training certificate to your renewal application.Present your valid or expired Ohio Concealed Carry License with your application.No additional firearms training is required to renew your license.
If you are a retired peace officer, retired state trooper, or retired federal law enforcement officer, there is no renewal fee (bring in a letter or other documentation verifying retirement).
Payment of a non-refundable fee:
- $50.00 for residents of Ohio for the last five consecutive years or more.
- $74.00 If you have not been an Ohio resident for the last five consecutive years.
Criminal and Mental competency background checks
Payments may be in cash (EXACT CHANGE), money order or CERTIFIED CASHIER’S check payable to: Brown County Sheriff’s Office.
(Non-certified personal or business checks will NOT be accepted)
Applicants will receive their issued license by U.S. Postal Mail, delivered to the address of your choice.
PLEASE DO NOT CALL to check on the status of your application after we have received it unless you fail to hear from us/or receive your mailed license for 45 days. If you were ink printed as part of the application process, your license completion time will be longer than if processed with an electronic WebCheck fingerprint. Ohio law allows up to 45 days for processing applications, although we make every effort to complete the process as quickly as possible.